16 Patch, quilting, Roll Roll Cotton Boll

Roll Roll Buzz Saw – The Last Buzz Saw Prickly Pear Block!!!

I have never been more happy to be ready to work on the last block of a quilt!

I started this Roll Roll Cotton Boll project as part of a Bonnie K. Hunter mystery in December 2010 which rolled over into the first part of 2011.  If any of you have done this mystery and were overwhelmed by it I totally get it.

That is why I am sooooooo happy to finally be at this stage of this quilt!  DSCF9010

The final Prickly Pear Block!

Here is a photo of all the blocks (sans the last) up on the design wall… DSCF9013

Yeah.  I know, takes the breath away.  I can just see so much sewing that was done on this!

But it is not yet finished.  There is yet a border that goes around this center and I’ve yet to cut the brown half square triangles…DSCF9011

That will be sewn on these 3 patches…(inside the project basket)…DSCF9012

You can see Elvis in there too…he may be finally coming out to be in the border!  We went to Graceland the Fall of 2010, just before this mystery started.

While sewing these blocks I’ve been piecing together 2″ squares, then 4 patches, then 16 patches and now the makings of a baby blanket center…  DSCF9001

While sewing this top I’ve really been contemplating sending this one to an outside quilter.  Sometimes a quilt really can get overwhelming!  I know those feelings will pass and I’ll want to then figure out how to FMQ (free motion quilt) this large quilt.  It is only a matter of time.

Soon.  Real Soon!

Happy Quilting, Happy Sewing!

~Cathy

Leave a Reply

