quilting

A Churn Dash Topper Finish!

Hi Everyone!

The top is finished!  I came home this evening and blazed through the third border.  I didn’t stop until it was complete and I could get a picture of it.

DSCF8326

Not even stopping to press.  Just zip zip zip sewing and whisked off into the dimming twilight for a full study photo!

DSCF8327

I love it!  This was such a fun top to put together, now I need to discuss how this one will be quilted.  My gut is telling me to do an all over pattern because it is a ‘busy’ quilt.  Do any of you have thoughts about the quilting?

I do plan on quilting it, free motion, on one of my machines, most likely the Bernina.  This will be my 5th quilt to be free motioned so I’m open to any ideas you all might have.

Stay tuned!  Happy Quilting!

~Cathy

3 thoughts on “A Churn Dash Topper Finish!”

  1. The finished look is so much prettier than I imagined it to be… that’s probably one reason I so not indulge in this creative art. You do good work, Cathy. As for the allover quilting process, that is a good question and I have no input. Everything I ever quilted was outline stitching, I don’t even remember the name for that; it is time consuming, but isn’t it all?
    Love, MOM

  2. This is my first time to your blog and I have to let you know how much I LOVE this churn dash. Your colors are wonderful! Great job! I have no idea about the quilting pattern. I am famous for “just meander and get it done”!!! I’m sure it will be lovely whatever you do!

    1. Awe, thanks Peggy! I’m still pondering the quilting. It will speak something to me eventually, they always do! Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

