Carolina Christmas Quilt, Machine Quilting, quilting

Quilting The Carolina Christmas – Running Out of Thread

Yesterday I ran out of thread!

Look…I just had this last little corner bit to do before working on the borders!Fortunately I had wound several bobbins and have a couple left to work through.  I’m hoping I can squeeze it out of them!

In the meantime I did find Aurifil at Linda Z’s in Arlington Heights.  But unfortunately they did not carry the same weight I am using.

I bought what they had, as it is the same tri-color variegated thread but am hoping this difference in weight will not be noticeable.  I’m using the green spool (40 wt) and Linda Z’s carries the orange spool (50 wt).

Does anyone know if there is an estimate chart for thread usage?  Lesson learned here no doubt!  For a King size quilt purchase 3000 meters of thread!

Til next time!

~Cathy

14 thoughts on “Quilting The Carolina Christmas – Running Out of Thread”

  1. cant advise on thread weight etc as I’m just getting into quilting myself. So newbie question from me: is that a full sized quilt being done on a standard sized sewing machine? what’s the practicalities of not using a long arm machine? In other words – how do you get into the middle?!

    1. Yes, it is a full (actually KING) sized quilt that I am quilting on a regular sewing machine. You get into the middle by squishing the quilt into folds. Not every machine can handle it. You need room in the harp area. This quilt is toward the max capacity! The practicalities of using a domestic sewing machine vs a long arm are primarily the expense of long arm quilting! Several hundreds of dollars to have a long armer quilt it or spend thousands for the machine, frame and spare room to house the equipment. I don’t have either.

  2. the price and size of a long arm have made me nervous of getting into doing the biggies. Naturally I want to go from Newbie to Huge in one (easy?!) step! Have to remind myself that perhaps I should try a lap quilt or something smaller to start with eh? 🙂

    Well done anyway, hope who ever has it gets great comfort and joy from it

    1. Yes, I know exactly what you mean! As I had started quilting this quilt by hand but realized after watching Leah Day that I thought maybe I COULD do it!!! I’ve made mistakes though but wow…I am almost finished and I am so excited!

  3. I don’t think that you can do a realistic estimate of thread usage. It really depends on stitch length and density moreso than the size of the quilt. I’ve run through 3000 meters of thread on a very densely quilted baby quilt and finished a king sized quilt on three bobbins (though the bobbins on my long arm are much, much bigger than those on the regular sewing machine).

    1. This is so true! I guess maybe I’m thinking of a density grid or something. I’ll just chock this up to experience and make a little guide for myself to estimate how much thread I might use in the next one!

  4. I love the quilt that you are working on! The traditional style and the color choices are wonderful!

    I have quilted a king sized quilt on my domestic Bernina (and she’s about 15 years old). I do it Libby Lehman’s way…the push and shove method. I start in the center. As I remove basting pins and work out towards the edges, the weight gets lighter and it becomes easier to manuever. It isn’t easy for sure!

    I also don’t think you can estimate the amount of thread to use. I heavily quilt most of my quilts and I use alot of thread. Someone else may be satisfied with simply quilting in the ditch and wouldn’t need as much thread as I would.

    I thank you for the mention in your related articles!

  5. Thank you Laura! Loved your post, I’ll have to look up Libby as I’m not familiar with her. ~still quilting!

    1. Thank you Ricci! I haven’t used Superior Threads yet but I think I am going to soon!!! I love that you are in the US!

Leave a Reply

