At the Auction!

At The Auction -Two Quilt Tops!

Yesterday was the big auction I wanted to go to while visiting family in Ft. Wayne.

Jim dropped me off before noon and I stayed for about an hour and a half.  There were boxes and boxes of fabric, quilting books, quilting supplies, quilt toppers, notions and many more household goods.

I won two quilt tops.  The first was this yellow star snowball.It’s scrappy and I liked the yellow.  This is also a pattern that is one of my favorites.  Look at these truly nutty fabrics that are in this!Childrens, hearts, flowers…Cowboy…More children’s, some funky paisley and I love this little ‘Hog Wash’ square.  This is what I love about scrap quilts.  Up close the squares can be just awful but from far away, or when sewn together, you just get an overall effect of the colors and not the detail.  Einstein approved!But I had to get his paws off of it quick!

Then I bid on this other quilt top.  A little smaller but another scrappy design.  This one was pieced by hand and looks to my eyes to have been made in the late 30’s-late 40’s era.  Not totally sure but the fabrics are dated and they have an aged feel and look.  Love the Orange!Mismatchy scrappy…Old clothing…Just lovely.

While I was waiting for Jim to pick me up I sat down next to a women.  We got to talking and it turned out she was a long arm quilter.  She wanted to know what I was going to do with them, how I got into quilting, if I belonged to a guild and so forth.  She was probably 20 years older than me and we had a really great conversation.  This auction attracted quilters from all over and I ended up not bidding on LOTS of stuff.  The bids were just too high.

The Featherweight went for $275…to much for me.  The boxes of fabric were going for as much as $40!  Crazy!!!!  But I guess if you knew the woman it was going to her estate so there may have been some sympathetic bidding going on.

All in all, I’m happy with my purchases and I’ll need to make a plan for what I’m going to do with them!  It should be fun.

~Cathy

Leave a Reply

