quilting

California Trip Stash – #1 Quilting Cottons

Here is a photo of all the quilting cottons I picked up while in California. Usually when I shop for quilting fabrics I try to only look for fabrics that will fill a void in my palette of colors. In this case it is medium blues, black backgrounds and neutrals.

I first look in the back to see what is on clearance, then if I find something I like I usually just get a minimum cut. Then I browse the rest of the store for any fabrics that meet my criteria. If I really like a print then I’ll get a 1/2 yard cut. Then I’ll look at the fat quarters with the same determination.

It’s easy to get crazy for sure so having a stop measure is really important! We visited two quilt shops on the trip. The first was Luella’s Quilt Basket in Redondo Beach and the other was Amidon Quiltworks in Poway.

Leave a Reply

