Border Decision!

First of all THANK YOU all for your comments!  It was so fun to hear what you thought and I very much appreciate the input!

Wow, so many of you liked option #3, the Black inner border with the wide Black outer border!  I am beginning to second guess myself now!churn dash thin black inner wide black outer

Are you ready to see what I had picked out?

Here was my choice for the borders on the Churn Dash quilt…

The Black thin inner border with the wide White outer border!DSCF7536

So it was close but my thought was I’d bind the quilt in black and that might set the final piece to bring everything together.  I could be wrong, but hey…what the heck, I must try!

The inner border is cut to 1-3/4 inches and will finish at 1-1/4 inches wide and the outer border is cut to 5 inches and will finish at 4-1/2 inches…

churn dash black inner white outer

Some tweaking in EQ7 was all that was needed to make sure every patch lined up and the dimensions work out to be 94″ x 104″.  That is the perfect size to cover a Queen size bed and have drape over the sides, enough to cover the top mattress and a bit of the box spring.

It is a LARGE quilt and I know you all are wondering how in the world am I going to quilt this thing!  I have only quilted one other quilt this large, the Carolina Christmas quilt from a few years back.  That was a challenge but I was able to do it on the Bernina 170.  The trick, I’ve found, is to have a plan that starts in the center of the quilt and works its way out.

This will be only my 5th quilt to quilt by machine and what I’ve discovered is that I like to free motion quilt with what I’m going to call a ‘short plan’.  The ‘short plan’ is a sampling, or an idea, of what I think will work for an area.

I start an idea with a doodle on paper…DSCF7538

This one above is a teardrop shape with a couple of echo drops on the inside.  I just practice doodling this to see if it is something that can be done continuously.  Then, once I’m satisfied, I’ll put the doodle up against the quilt to check the scale…DSCF7537

Right now, I can see that this might be too ‘tight’.  This quilt has a lot going on and my thought was to quilt it with a free motion pattern that will not compete with all that color going on.  I’ll need to enlarge the pattern and work out some long sweeping curves before I begin!

But first, I’ll need to finish the border and then sandwich the quilt together.  There’s still time to work up a ‘short plan’ before I go for it!

Happy Quilting!

~Cathy

2 responses to “Border Decision!

  1. The most important thing of all is YOU like what you chose!! :) Thanks for letting us all be part of your “design consultant team”. :)

    • stitchinstein

      I loved everyone’s input. I’m going to continue on with the white outer binding and once finished, before quilting I’ll check just in case. If so many of you liked that #3 option I may have to use it! Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

